Please wait while the installer finishes determining your disk space requirements !!!

ASP.NET MVC 1.0 Install

ASP.NET MVC 1.0 Install

Is this a Microsoft joke?

I started to install Microsoft’s ASP.NET MVC 1.0.  As you can see from the picture an alert box pops up and tells me to

!!!  Please wait while the installer finishes determining your disk space requirements !!!

This appears to take forever. I waited 15 minutes. Nothing happened. I click on the return button within the small alert box. The Alert box disappears. I click on the [Next button] in the install window. The alert box appears again. It tells me:

!!!  Please wait while the installer finishes determining your disk space requirements !!!

How long are we supposed to wait.

Here the user not only has to wait in a bemused state but has to hit the ‘return’ button to continue with the install. But wait there is a Microsoft feature which keeps taking you back to where you were before.  The only way to get out of this madness is to cancel the install.

I found this article

http://bloggingabout.net/blogs/harold/archive/2009/01/14/windows-installer-doesn-t-finish-determining-disk-space-requirements.aspx

I am not using VPC.

I have a Dell, Windows XP SP3,  VS2008 SP1, .NET 3.5 SP1. It is a standalone PC.

Could some really really smart person at Microsoft please fix the installation MSI or add a comment to this post giving a workaround.

10 thoughts on “Please wait while the installer finishes determining your disk space requirements !!!

  1. Hi

    Have you tried a silent install from the commandline? msiexec /i AspNetMvc1.msi /qn

    I have no idea why it locks up. Utilities such as Procmon might reveal more info

  2. What worries me about the quiet install is that I cannot be certain that everything worked correctly.

    Given that the MSI has already proved a bit ‘iffy’, I do not want to screw up my development machine.

    MS have known about MSI problems since last year so I am hoping that they are near to finding a proper solution.

    I will wait to see what options I have before taking a complete backup of my system and then giving a few of these a try.

  3. I’m a dev on ASP.NET MVC. The silent install is not that different, but if you’re concerned, could you perhaps launch the the installer using the following:

    msiexec /i AspNetMvc1.msi /l*v .\install.log and

    email me the log file? The command will do a full UI based install. Wait for the disk costing dialog to show and click on the return button so that we can capture those events in the log as well. The disk costing process is performed automatically by Windows Installer, not our MSI. Once I have the log I can follow up internally with the Windows Installer team to see how we can resolve this.

    Thanks,
    Jacques

  4. Jacques,

    Fortunately or unfortunately, depending on how you look at it. I used the command that you specified and the install proceeded correctly and everything installed.

    I did not get any message about determining disk space requirements.

    I do have the log of the install if you want to have a look at it, but otherwise thank you and Phil Haack for your help.

  5. hi.. thanks for this blog post. I was having a similar problem during the installation of a different product (NUnit) and the solution mentioned in your comments section helped.
    I actually ran “msiexec /i .msi” without any additional options, and the installation worked without taking me to the “disk space requirements” alert. I am not sure how the command-line command I used is different from a double-click, but it works. Thanks.

    – RK

  6. Guys,
    Having fallen foul of this very issue I simply unistalled VM additions and then re-intalled. The problem went away.
    Dont know if it was a fluke but its def fixed the problem with my 2008 sp2 VPC

  7. I could not get this to work at all with all the above suggestions. What I did end up finding was a simple clearing of all the temp files, then the install went right thru. How annoying. ‘Cleanup/empty the temp-directory (e.g. C:\Users\\AppData\Local\Temp, C:\User and Settings\\Local Settings\Temp, c:\Windows\Temp\).-Giving credit where credit is due: http://code.google.com/p/tortoisegit/wiki/SetupHowTo

Leave a Reply

